skip navigation


By Bob Manelski, 05/09/24, 1:30PM EDT


Delaware Baseball Coaches Association Hall of Fame Inductees Class of 2024

One of the most successful baseball programs at any level in the state, the Joseph B. Stahl American Legion Post #30 in New Castle has been in existence for 59 years this spring. They become the eighth team/program to be inducted into the Delaware Baseball Hall of Fame.

During those previous 58 seasons, Stahl Post has produced numerous state championships, national championship tournament appearances, notable coaches, and over 500 talented players who have gone on to compete at the college, professional, and Major League level.

Overall, Stahl Post has captured 33 state championships, won three regional titles, made three World Series appearances, and had 33 players drafted or signed professionally, including seven who went on to play in the Major Leagues. In 1967, Joe Cherico won the American Legion national batting championship.

Four others – Pat Ramone, Tripp Keister, Dave May, and Donovan May – have become MLB scouts and nine more - Fred Bloom, Riley, John Bednash, Ramone, Jim Sherman, Matt Brainard, Keister, Jim Fallers, and Dave Beccaria – have become college head coaches. Another 17 alumni have been inducted into the Delaware Baseball Hall of Fame.

Among the Stahl Post alumni who have played at the Major League level are Cliff Brumbaugh, Derrick May, Kevin Mench, and Brett Oberholtzer

The induction will take place at Frawley Stadium on June 19th at 6 PM prior to the Blue Rocks Game.

DEBCA website Class 2024 Press Release