skip navigation

Recent Delaware Post 1 News

DE Post 1 Sweeps Post 14

By Brent Treml 07/07/2018, 8:45pm EDT

Post 1 Rolls over Harrison Post in a Cross Division Double Header

Game 1: Delaware Post 1 - 10, Smyrna Post 14 - 3 :

Post 1's Nate Thomas hit a mammoth solo home run off the scoreboard and Jack Dubecq reached base in every at bat, recording 2 singles and a double and scoring 2 runs.  Ryan Williams also recorded a single and a double for Post 1. 

JT Tomovich collected the win on the mound, striking out 7 over 5 innings before Austin Colmery pitched a scoreless 6th and 7th.  Ridgeway doubled and stole 2 bases for Post 14.

Game 2: Delaware Post 1 - 16, Smyrna Post 14 - 1:

Marshall Awtry, Jacob Meisel, and Tim Glavin all had 2 hits and 3 RBIs for Post 1, and Nate Thomas scored 3 runs. 

Ryan Bradigan collected the win on the mound, throwing a complete game and striking out 5.  Bell had 2 hits and the lone RBI for Post 14.


State Tournament Expanded to the Top 8 Seeds

By rsl 06/30/2018, 10:00pm EDT

The League Expands the field

The Department of Delaware American Legion Baseball Committee has decided to expand the field of the 2018 State tournament to the top 8 teams based on league play.

"We looked at the schedule, and regardless if we play a six or eight team tournament, it would still take 5 days." according to State Chairman Roy Lamberton. "In addition, the top 2 seeds would not play a game until Monday of the tournament. "

"We decided under the new 7 Inning game format, we could play the entire tournament on one field, and all 8 teams would be in action during the first 2 days of the event. The idea is to send our best team to the Mid Atlantic Regional, and that requires a team to play at least 5 games."

The 2018 State Championship Tournament will start July 21st at Wilson Field in New Castle, Delaware. The host team is Stahl Post 30. (article edited July 2nd)


Two of Delaware's top teams battle for wins

Game 1: In a finish to a game that was tied after 7 Innings, Post 1 scored in the top of the 8th, and held on to take a 9-8 win over Post 10.

Game 2: Eric Ludman hit a bases loaded single past a diving 3rd baseman to drive in 2 runs and walkoff Post 10 in extra innings 4-3.  Chris Ludman defeated Joey Silan in an excellent pitchers duel.  E

Ric Ludman got the scoring started with an RBI single in the 2nd, scoring Austin Colmery.  Post 10 tied the game with an RBI single by Warrington, scoring Zach Lesher. Post 10 plated an unearned run in the top of the 6th, only to be matched by Marshall Awtry's RBI single in the bottom of the 6th to score Nate Thomas and tie the game. 

Weaver knocked in the go ahead run in the top of the 8th with an RBI single down the right field line.  But Post 1 loaded the bases with 1 out in the bottom of the 8th with 2 singles and a walk, before Eric Ludman singled down the left field, scoring Thomas and Awtry for the walk-off, extra inning win.

Contact Information

DE Post 1

Manager: Brent Treml

Home Field: Salesianum HS

DE Post 1's Page on League Lineup

With Team Stats, announcements, etc.


Delaware State Champions

1926, 1928, 1929,
  1945, 1946,
1987, 1990, 1992, 1993
2000, 2017

Francis J. Lucia Team Sportsmanship Award


More About Delaware Post 1

One of the original teams that made up the first Delaware American Legion Baseball lineup.

Post 1 Recruits players from the Northwest corner of  Delaware